Whether you were a passenger inside an Orlando-based rideshare vehicle or a separate driver that collided with one, you may qualify to file an auto insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit if the accident resulted in an injury for you or a loved one. When a car accident case potentially involves a rideshare company, like the Minnie Van™ connected by Lyft or iRYDE, certain factors of the case may vary, such as:
- Which party may be held liable for damages (e.g., the rideshare driver or the rideshare company)
- Whether you may qualify to file multiple claims if more than one liable party exists
- Whether rideshare laws in Florida affect your case
If you or a loved one suffered injuries in a rideshare accident in Orlando, Florida, you may have grounds to pursue compensation for your damages. An Orlando rideshare accident lawyer from Bogin, Munns & Munns can represent you throughout your case and advocate for your right to financial recovery. We offer the first consultation for free when you call our firm.
Coverage for a Rideshare Accident Can Vary Based on App Activity
Whether you were in an Uber accident or an accident with a different rideshare vehicle, many rideshare companies share similar coverage policies based on transportation network company (TNC) laws. In Florida, Florida Statutes § 627.748 details key definitions for how TNCs can function in the state, including how much coverage they must provide should an accident occur.
Per this statute, rideshare companies must provide the following automobile liability coverage:
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage, including death, per person
- $100,000 bodily injury coverage, including death, per accident
- $25,000 property damage coverage
Companies are also required to have other forms of coverage if one of their drivers gets into an accident, such as comprehensive and collision coverage. Our legal team can review relevant insurance policies that apply to your case and confirm whether the coverage is sufficient for your damages.
Rideshare Companies May Only Provide Coverage in Specific Scenarios
Companies like Lyft that rely on app activity to monitor its employee base will also use app activity to determine when the company’s auto insurance policy steps in to cover an accident. In general, many rideshare app companies will follow these rules:
- If the driver was not logged in to the app at the time of the accident: The rideshare driver’s personal auto insurance will cover the accident for damages. Many rideshare companies mandate that their contract employees carry their own auto insurance policy when they are not working.
- If the driver was logged in to the app and waiting for a ride request: Many rideshare companies may provide coverage for the accident in these instances if the rideshare driver’s personal auto insurance does not apply the minimum policy requirements.
- If the driver was logged in to the app and actively transporting a passenger: Rideshare companies often provide coverage for accidents involving passengers en route, even in cases where the passengers were just being picked up or dropped off at their destination.
If you’re unsure whether the rideshare company holds liability for your accident, an Orlando rideshare accident lawyer from our team can lead an investigation into your accident and confirm this information. Should we find that other parties may be responsible for your damages, we can help you build a case against them and fight for compensation for your injuries and damages.
To consult with an experienced rideshare accident lawyer serving Orlando, call 855-780-9986
You May Have Grounds to Demand Compensation for Your Damages
If you were a passenger inside a rideshare vehicle receiving a service, you may qualify for compensation if the vehicle gets into an accident, resulting in your injuries. If you were a separate driver or passenger involved in a collision with a rideshare vehicle, you may file a claim with your own auto insurance company to cover your damages or file a personal injury lawsuit against a liable party if your damages exceed policy limits.
In many accident cases, people can recover the following types of damages:
- Medical expenses
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Income loss
- Reduced earning potential
- Permanent disability
- Loss of consortium
- Diminished quality of life
Our legal team can review your damages as we build your case and reach an estimate on how much compensation to pursue on your behalf based on their legal value.
Orlando Rideshare Accident Lawyer Near Me 855-780-9986
Our Attorneys Can Stand Up to the Rideshare Company in Orlando, FL for You
If you decide to work with an Orlando rideshare accident lawyer, our legal team at Bogin, Munns & Munns will provide the following services:
- Private investigation: We will review legal documents related to your case, such as the official crash report and insurance policies, and do our own separate investigation to retrieve information about the accident. We can also collect evidence on your behalf to support your case.
- Administrative services: Our team will draft your demand letter and other legal notices for you. You can also refer any inquiring parties to our office to make any statements on your behalf, as this can better protect your case. Additionally, our office will prepare legal paperwork and notify you of any case updates we receive.
- Legal representation: One of our attorneys will represent you throughout the litigation. They will prepare your case for trial if that becomes a necessary route. If possible, they can organize a settlement deal by negotiating with the opposing side in out-of-court meetings.
Our staff is also available to provide legal counsel if you have questions about the legal process. We’ll provide contact information for whenever you have concerns about your case.
Florida Sets a Legal Deadline for All Rideshare Accident Cases
Lawsuits about rideshare accidents must comply with Florida’s statute of limitations, as written in Florida Statutes § 95.11(3)(a). Per this statute, a plaintiff generally has four years from the date of their accident to file a personal injury lawsuit demanding compensation for their injuries. Failure to comply with your case’s filing deadline could result in a judge dismissing your case on those grounds, which would absolve the defendant of any liability for your damages.
If a surviving representative wants to file a wrongful death lawsuit, then the statutory deadline is shorter. For wrongful death cases, a plaintiff must submit their lawsuit within two years of the victim’s death.
Click to contact our Orlando Rideshare Accident Lawyers today
Call Bogin, Munns & Munns Today to Get a Free Consultation with Our Team
If you or a loved one sustained injuries in a rideshare accident in Orlando, Florida, you may have grounds to file a claim or lawsuit with the rideshare driver, company, or third party to pursue compensation. An Orlando rideshare accident lawyer from Bogin, Munns & Munns can work on your case and represent you against the defendant as they petition for your financial recovery.
Our attorneys work on a contingency-fee-basis, so we do not charge any attorney’s fees unless we win your case. Want to learn more about our legal services? Call our firm using the number on our website, and you’ll get a free consultation with a member of our team. You can start your legal journey in Orange County as soon as today when you call.
Call or text 855-780-9986 or complete our Request a Consultation form