If you have been charged with driving under the influence, then it may benefit you to secure a lawyer. Your attorney will be able to create a defense, argue in your favor, and ensure that you were treated fairly when you were detained. Many people who are charged with a DUI may believe that their legal representative does not matter. Nothing could be further from the truth.
At Bogin, Munns & Munns, it is our mission to ensure that each of our clients receives a fair trial. We will compile evidence on your behalf to fight for a dismissal, a reduction in your charges, or lesser penalties. When you are arrested for a DUI, our Dayton Beach criminal DUI lawyer is ready to help.
What Classifies a DUI in Florida?
Per the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle (FHSMV) Department, you could be charged with a DUI for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. An officer may assess drug intoxication through field sobriety tests or a blood test. If you are under the influence of alcohol, then having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% would meet the criteria for DUI.
However, police officers are no longer required to give you a Breathalyzer test in order to prove you are intoxicated. If the officer is able to prove that your normal functions are improper, such as walking, slurred speech, or improperly dilating eyes, then you could be charged with a DUI.
To consult with an experienced dui lawyer serving Daytona Beach, call 855-780-9986
How Can a DUI Attorney Help Me?
You have a right to an attorney when your freedom is on the line. However, it would benefit you to consider a DUI attorney from our firm rather than accepting an attorney appointed to you by the court. Court-appointed attorneys are often strapped for time and resources, so they may not have the ability to give your case the individualized attention it deserves.
When you become our client, you will receive the attention to detail, care, and passion that you deserve from your legal representative.
Reducing Your Sentence
If you are convicted of a DUI, even just once, there is the possibility that you could face jail time. At Bogin, Munns & Munns, it is our mission to ensure that our clients are treated fairly by the criminal justice system and the state of Florida. If you were pulled over, you damaged property, injured another driver, or have other aggravating circumstances, we will fight to protect your future.
Whether this is your first or fourth conviction, you deserve a representative who will fight for your future and your freedom. Rest assured that we will search out the best strategy for you and your case, so you have a second chance at a better future.
Daytona Beach DUI Lawyer Near Me 855-780-9986
Penalties for a DUI in Florida
The penalties that you suffer for your DUI will depend on the nature of your accident. For instance, being pulled over by a police officer while under the influence could result in a $500 fine according to Florida law. However, subsequent offenses as well as property damage or injuries to other parties could make the penalties much more significant.
When you are charged with a DUI the first time, you may face:
- A fine of between $500-$1000. If a minor was present or if BAC was higher than .15, then the fine would be between $1,000 and $2,000.
- A maximum of six months in prison.
- Vehicle impounded or immobilized for at least 10 days.
On your first offense, you are generally not required to serve a minimum prison sentence. Whether you serve time will depend on the ruling of the judge as well as the circumstances of your arrest.
If you are convicted of a DUI for a second time, fines become more expensive and jail sentences become longer. You could face:
- A fine of $1,000-$2,000. If your BAC was .15 or higher or if a minor was in the car, then the fine would be at least $2,000 and not more than $4,000.
- At least 10 days in prison if your second conviction was within five years of your first. Your imprisonment would not last longer than nine months. If your BAC was .15 or higher or a minor was present, then you could face 12 months.
- Vehicle immobilization for 30 days if your conviction is within 30 days of your most recent arrest.
After your third offense, you could face:
- A fine of anywhere from $2,000 to $4,000. If your BAC was .15 or higher or a minor was present, then you may be fined at least $4,000.
- 30 days in prison if your third conviction is within 10 years of a prior conviction. If it is more than 10 years after your first conviction, then you may serve up to 12 months in prison.
- Vehicle immobilization of 90 days
Four or More Offenses
After your fourth offense, you may be considered a habitual offender. This can carry much more severe punishments. Basic penalties for four or more offenses include:
- A fine of at least $2,000. There is no maximum fine. If your BAC was over .15 or a child was present, then the fine would be at least $4,000.
- Up to five years in prison
Vehicular manslaughter is considered a second-degree felony. Penalties for such include:
- Up to 15 years imprisonment
- A fine up to $10,000
If you leave the scene of a crime, then you could face a first-degree felony charge, which could lead to 30 years in prison.
Click to contact our Daytona Beach Criminal DUI Lawyers today
Contact Bogin, Munns & Munns Today
If you have been convicted of a DUI, then time is of the essence. At Bogin, Munns & Munns, we will review all the details of your case, fight violations of your rights, and pursue the best outcome for your circumstances. When you need a Daytona Beach Criminal DUI lawyer, call or visit us online.
Call or text 855-780-9986 or submit our Consultation Request form today