If you suffered injuries or property damage in a hit and run car accident, you deserve compensation. However, securing awards after a driver has fled the scene can be difficult, though not impossible.
A Kissimmee car accidents lawyer with Bogin, Munns & Munns can help you explore your options for recovering hit and run damages for an accident that happened in Kissimmee. We can pursue your losses from a liable party if possible or ensure your insurance provider pays you a full and fair settlement. You can review your next steps with our team during a free consultation.
Our Lawyers Can Pursue Damages After a Kissimmee Hit and Run Accident
Around 25 percent of all traffic crashes in the state involve hit and run drivers, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). Although many of these collisions cause only property damage, severe and fatal injuries can result when someone strikes an occupied vehicle. Furthermore, when a driver flees the scene and does not report a collision, it can delay medical care for accident victims.
In an ideal world, those guilty of a hit and run would ultimately get caught and made to pay for the damage they caused. Sadly, this is not always the case, and the injured party is often left wondering where to turn to recover their losses.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Claims
Under Florida’s no-fault insurance system, most motorists must carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. PIP pays for up to 80 percent of your medical treatment and around two-thirds of your average weekly income if an injury keeps you from working. PIP will also provide $5,000 in death benefits for a fatal injury.
PIP covers the above losses, regardless of who caused the collision, so you can seek these benefits even if they resulted from a hit and run accident. The law does not require motorcyclists to have PIP, so this insurance may not apply if you have a hit and run motorcycle accident and do not carry a no-fault policy.
PIP does not compensate for property damages or pain and suffering. It also will not pay for medical expenses, lost wages, or wrongful death damages above your policy’s limits. Our hit and run accident attorneys serving Kissimmee, FL, may be able to help you pursue these losses via other channels.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Claims
Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) insurance pays covers damages if you are in an accident with a driver who does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover your losses. UM/UIM usually also applies to hit and run crashes.
Our auto accident lawyers can help you file a claim and negotiate a fair settlement with your insurance provider. We may be able to secure payment for losses that exceed your PIP. If you have this policy, we can also assist with a property damage claim against your collision coverage.
Liability Auto Insurance Claims or Car Accident Lawsuits
Sometimes, law enforcement can locate hit and run drivers. Our Kissimmee legal team may even uncover information through our accident investigation that could aid the police in this task. We might be able to locate a liable third party, such as the hit and run motorist’s employer or the driver of another vehicle involved in the crash.
If we can identify an at-fault party, we can hold them financially accountable with an auto insurance claim or by taking legal action in civil court. A personal injury claim or lawsuit will allow you to fully recover your medical expenses and the total value of your lost income. You can also pursue compensation for the following:
- Loss of your future earning capacity if you cannot perform your previous job or return to work because of a permanent or disabling injury.
- Personal property damages, including the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle and compensation for other damaged personal items like cell phones, laptops, or prescription eyeglasses.
- Pain and suffering, including severe and chronic physical pain, loss of mobility, loss of bodily function, scarring, disfigurement, mental and emotional distress, and impaired quality of life.
- Wrongful death, including economic damages resulting from your loved one’s fatal car accident and non-economic damages for qualifying survivors’ mental and emotional pain and suffering and intangible losses.
To consult with an experienced hit and run accident lawyer serving Kissimmee, call 855-780-9986
How Long Do You Have to File a Lawsuit for a Kissimmee Hit and Run Accident?
There are several important deadlines to note when seeking compensation for a Kissimmee, FL, hit and run accident. First, you should report your crash to law enforcement immediately if you did not summon an officer at the time of the incident. Florida law requires that you report it, and doing so is an essential step in creating a case record.
Second, see a doctor as soon as possible if you have not already. According to Florida Statutes § 627.736, you must seek medical treatment within 14 days of your injury to protect your right to PIP benefits. In addition, seeking treatment establishes a medical record and timeline for your injuries.
Finally, you generally have two years to sue for personal injury or wrongful death under Florida Statutes § 95.11. If the statute of limitations expires, the court will likely refuse to hear your case. If you cannot take legal action, there is no incentive for the insurance company to offer you a fair settlement. Therefore, it is imperative you resolve your lawsuit before your window closes.
Kissimmee Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Near Me 855-780-9986
Call Us Today for Legal Help After a Hit and Run Accident in Kissimmee, FL
Our Kissimmee hit and run accident lawyers can manage every detail of your auto collision insurance claim or lawsuit. Once you become our client, our legal professionals will use more than 40 years of experience when protecting your rights and fighting for the financial compensation you need to get back on your feet after a car wreck.
Contact Bogin, Munns & Munns today for a risk-free, no-cost consultation. A team member is available 24/7 to answer your questions and connect you with an attorney who can help you determine your next steps. We accept personal injury clients on contingency, so it costs you nothing up front or out of pocket to get started.