Your lawyer can tell you how to obtain a police report for a car accident. The process generally entails:
- Determining which law enforcement agency responded to your accident
- Contacting that agency and requesting a report
- Providing any information the agency requests to find your report
- Picking up the report in person or providing a mailing address
You may also purchase a “crash report” from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). Your lawyer can also obtain your accident report for you.
What Information Will You Need to Obtain an Accident Report?
Whether you are seeking a report from a police agency or the FLHSMV, you may need to provide:
- The date your accident occured
- The approximate time of your accident
- The location of the collision
- Your name
- Other requested information
This information may help the responding party locate your accident report.
What If a Police Report for Your Accident does not Exist?
The police do not always respond to an accident scene. In this case, you may self-report your accident. The FLHSMV provides details for reporting an accident online or by mail. You may have to wait once you have reported your accident. After a period, your lawyer will explain how to obtain a copy of the report for your car accident.
Reporting protocols are not always clear. Having a lawyer obtain your report could be the easiest option.
How Long do You Have to Obtain an Accident Report?
If you were involved in a car accident, you could recover an accident report at any time after the collision. If you were not in the accident, you could wait 60 days after the report is filed to obtain a copy, per Florida § 316.066.
Does It Cost Money to Obtain an Accident Report?
The FLHSMV charges $10 for each crash report that you obtain. Additional service fees may apply.
To consult with an experienced car accidents lawyer today, call 855-780-9986
Why do You Need a Police Report for a Car Accident?
A police report may provide useful documentation from an objective source. A responding officer should have no bias towards either party in an accident. Their account of your accident may carry great weight.
A police report may:
- Tell where and when your accident occurred
- List witnesses to the accident
- Detail the responding officer’s account of the accident
- Indicate who is at fault for the accident
- Provide other important details about your accident
These details generally matter when you seek compensation for a car accident. Your lawyer may cite the officer’s report during negotiations.
What Other Evidence Can Be Useful to Your Case?
The police report is only one form of evidence that your lawyer may use. Your attorney may also obtain:
- Witness accounts of your accident
- Your own account of the accident
- Video footage of your accident (from dashcams, traffic cameras, security cameras, and other sources)
- Photographic evidence of property damage and injuries
- Expert testimony providing insight into your accident
- Any other useful evidence or documentation
Your lawyer will collect evidence for your case. They will also document your losses through medical records, bills, income reports, and other means.
Can You Recover Compensation for a Car Accident in Florida?
You may file a personal injury lawsuit, wrongful death lawsuit, or insurance claim after your accident. These actions may provide compensation for:
Any medical cost related to your accident may be recoverable. This includes:
- Medical imaging
- Emergency treatment
- Ambulance transport
Our team will seek compensation for all accident-related medical expenses.
Pain and Suffering
Pain and suffering refers to non-economic losses from your accident. This may include traumatic memories, lost quality of life, psychological conditions, and other types of harm.
Lost Income and Earning Power
Liable parties may cover any wages you lose from injury. You may also receive coverage for a decline in your earning power. Lost earning power may come from:
- Diminished hours
- A change in jobs to accommodate your injury symptoms
- Loss of physical or cognitive abilities
Liable parties may pay for vehicle repairs. They may have to replace your vehicle and any other property damaged during the collision.
A Wrongful Death
Traffic deaths in Florida cost as much as $55 billion annually, per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Your loved one’s passing may take a financial and non-financial toll, and you may receive coverage for:
- Funeral expenses
- Lost financial support
- Loss of a spouse
- Loss of a parent
- Pain and suffering
- Economic losses incurred before your loved one’s death (medical care, property damage)
Our team will fight to cover each of your losses.
Click to contact our Florida Attorneys today
Call Bogin, Munns & Munns About Your Car Accident Case
Bogin, Munns & Munns has represented car accident victims since 1979. Our attorneys will fight for you and your loved ones while you recover. Call Bogin, Munns & Munns today at 407-578-9696 to discuss your case.
Do not wait to start your case. Call today.
Call or text 855-780-9986 or complete our Request a Consultation form